Black Don’t Crack (-_-)

Hey Loves, (steps on Soap Box)

Last weekend I went shopping with one of my besties and we ended up in a Sephora. While she was getting her mineralize powder I decided to hunt for a Beauty Balm. Beauty Balm, what is known to us as BB Cream. The best way to describe what is it is by an article by Huffington Post Style (http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/the-experts-at-garnier/bb-cream_b_1214401.html)

“BB Cream is promoted as an all-in-one facial cosmetic product to replace serum, moisturizer, primer, foundation and sunblock. It can be worn as a tinted moisturizer, over serum and moisturizer as a regular foundation, and under powder depending on the desired amount of coverage”

This sounds like such a great product however to all the companies out there I have one question:

What about BB creams for women of color? (Disclaimer: WOC denotes any woman of any ethnicity with a darker skin tone)

I ask this to you guys because when I asked this question the responses I got were things such as “do you guys really need it?” “Black don’t crack right?” Can these really be legit reasons why companies have not reached out to the WOC? I think this is absolutely nuts if you ask me. The only BB cream I have found that fits me is the Clinique BB Cream in Shade 4. Originally Clinique did not even have a color for me but they released that one new shade. This brings me to my next question:

How is it that makeup brands will have plenty of colors until they get past mocha and then it’s just “dark”?

Our world is made up of some many beautiful colors of women of every ethnicity yet make up companies have shunned the darker colors into one or two colors: Dark or Mocha. I for one am more of an amber and anytime I tried the Mocha color because “that’s the color they have for me” I turn out to look dead or even worse…ashy. All I want is the chance to walk into a store and not have to try on every brand of make up just trying to match.

This should be easier by now, but nothing has changed. Plus a BB cream would be an awesome summer substitute for foundation. We have a couple months so maybe some companies will get it to get together and come out with some more colors.

(Steps off Soap Box)

So until the next burst of thought… Au Revoir!

One thought on “Black Don’t Crack (-_-)

Leave a Reply

