Advice Corner| Transition from College to Adulthood

Hey Loves,

Over the weekend I realized how far I have grown up in the past year that I have been working. I can officially say I think I have acclimated into being an adult. NO I am sorry but I did not consider myself a real adult while in college. I was just in high school with no parental supervision. When I first got my job about a year ago I honestly struggled with some parts of it. The being alone in my own apartment thing was WONDERFUL even though sometimes the extreme silence drives me nuts. My job did not have one of those “New Employee” programs where you could meet more people who are in your situation. Unfortunately the job that I have is filled with older men whose children are around my age and there were not any women in my office who were my age either. I was the only female (now we have one more) who went offshore and dealt with certain things so I had nothing I can relate too. To be honest when I first moved here by myself I was kind of miserable. The only person who truly understood my struggles was experiencing the exact same situation in another city. So what did I do: picked up some hobbies. My original goal was to be a regular at the gym and just start working on me. I started back painting and reading became another new found hobby.

Another major issue for me during the transition was actually meeting people that I could eventually call friends. See because of my job I don’t live in the city, I live a little ways from the city. Which made it really hard to go out and meet people because I never felt comfortable going out to places at night by myself. Then during the day I would explore parts of the city but I would be by myself. That is until I got back in contact with some old friends from college. I became a part of the FSU alumni association and started participating in their weekend activities.

Since then I have met a group of people that I can now say I really enjoy being around. A lot of them have experienced the same kind of transition that I was going through so it was reassuring to know that it wasn’t just me having bad luck.  So I asked them what they did to try and meet people. Some of them tried meetup.com, trip advisor, going to specific parties. What I can say to those who are getting ready to graduate and dreading the question “what am I going to do with my life”. Don’t fret there is a rainbow at the end of the tunnel. It may seem a little depressing and discouraging at first but there is going to be happy moments. Sadly when you choose certain professions it puts you in places where you have to just be patient.

So until the next burst of thought…..oXxO

One thought on “Advice Corner| Transition from College to Adulthood

  1. kizzy says:

    I am so glad you were able to pull through. It shows how courageous and strong spirited you are. This is great advise for those who are, will or have been in the same situations.

Leave a Reply

