The Emmy Awards and WOC

“In my mind, I see a line. And over that line, I see green fields and lovely flowers and beautiful white women with their arms stretched out to me, over that line. But I can’t seem to get there no how. I can’t seem to get over that line.’

That was Harriet Tubman in the 1800s. And let me tell you something: The only thing that separates women of color from anyone else is opportunity.

You cannot win an Emmy for roles that are simply not there. So here’s to all the writers, the awesome people that are Ben Sherwood, Paul Lee, Peter Nowalk, Shonda Rhimes, people who have redefined what it means to be beautiful, to be sexy, to be a leading woman, to be black.

And to the Taraji P. Hensons, the Kerry Washingtons, the Halle Berrys, the Nicole Beharies, the Meagan Goods, to Gabrielle Union: Thank you for taking us over that line. Thank you to the Television Academy. Thank you.” – Viola Davis (2015)

(steps on soap box) Though some people have taken this speech and immediately displayed hatred or negativity, I take this speech not only as a message to “America’s definition of Good Actors” but as a message to my fellow African American Women.

You can say that I am or have become “Afrocentric” due to my new found decision to no longer hold my peace for the sake of avoiding confrontation but this is not a rant about better representation of my sisters but rather an emphasis on sisters uplifting sisters.

Yes Mrs. Davis made HISTORY but the part of the Emmy’s that really made me proud was the way tears flowed from Kerry Washington’s eyes and how Taraji P. Henson immediately jumped up to hug Viola and started screaming YAY as Regina King accepted her award.

For once there was a display of love and support amoung ourselves that was undeniably positive and uplifting. It was not just a win for the individual, it was a win for us as Black women. Those women made me proud because they celebrated together and the world could not help but notice. If you go and google “Taraji” the articles that come up are talking about how supportive and positive she was for other women winning even though she technically did not win a thing.

That is the message that I took from these wonderful ladies. Women as a whole are known for bashing other women rather than celebrating each other. It’s how I can walk into a bar or someplace I have never been and females are already sizing me up. That is not how we are going to grow as a community. The same way we take the time to screen shot or tag someone on IG when someone is looking a hotmess.com we should be able to do the same thing when we see a sister who is SLAYED FOR DAYS.

I always try and speak positivity into my WOC because I believe when we start loving and supporting each other we will unify in a way that America will have to stop and pay attention.If these women are making strides in the TV world I believe we should start making strides in everyday life to change the conventional definitions and add a little color back into America.

So Thank You Ladies for an inspiring Night.

(bows and steps down from soap box)

Leave a Reply

