Loch Ness Monster for President 2016?!

TI (or whatever he calls himself) said the following statements during an interview with DJ Whookid (and of course later tweeted an apology):

“Not to be sexist, I can’t vote for the leader of the free world to be a woman”

“I think you might be able to get the Loch Ness Monster elected before you could (a woman). It’s not right, but I’m just saying I don’t think”

“Just because every other position that exists, I think a woman could do well. But the president, it’s kind of like, I just know that women make rash decisions emotionally – they make very permanent, cemented decisions – and then later, it’s kind of like it didn’t happen or they didn’t mean for it to happen”

(Steps on Soap Box)

At first I was not going to address this type of ignorance but after some contemplation I decided that TI is not the only fool who says things like this. Unfortunately I have encountered many men who feel this way and they usually also find the feminist movement to be pointless.

My main question to TI is “how do you feel about limiting your daughters to what you feel is appropriate for a woman?” It seems extremely small of him to speak this nonsense (despite his over worded apology he soon tweeted) and here are my reasons why I do not like what he said:

  1. He makes it seems like women cannot separate their personal feelings from their professional duties. Considering that I am an engineer and a woman in leadership I have not made one emotional decision affecting the workplace.
  2. When men say things like this it is almost as if they are taking away a women’s choice to try. If Hillary Clinton wants to run for President who are you to say she can’t do it because she is a woman. That’s not a valid reason and maybe TI should focus on actual reasons that someone else would be a better candidate (do some research!)
  3. All of presidents have been men and being an American I can confidently say maybe a woman would be a nice change. Men are always so quick to belittle a woman and her value when they make statements like this.
  4. I cannot even call TI ignorant because he is well aware of the crap he says or does. Perfect Example: Iggy Azalea and his idea that Trump would be good for President because he can handle money (Really TI?!?)

The problem that men who think like this and come off anti-feminist miss the whole point of why these statements are so terrible. As a woman we have the human RIGHT to make our own decisions about what we want to do with our lives. You can’t limit me with these biased sexist comments. Honestly writing this post has been a challenge because my urge to attack him vs. the crap he said makes me really think about writing this. He isn’t the first idiot to speak like this but because I foresee these comments coming up more and more as the political race really gets started.

What are your thoughts on this interview and the statements that were made about women?

(Steps off Soap Box)

Leave a Reply

