Single Girl Survival Guide| Car Maintenance

Hey Loves,

While I was in college I really had to do minimal for my car. The main reason being the moment I lifted the hood of my car in my college apartment complex, some guys would volunteer to do it for me. A little sexist? MOST DEFINITELY…but did I feel like addressing it when I could watch them take care of my car FOR FREE…naw.

Now I am not saying you need to know how to go underneath your car and do everything yourself but I am saying you should know some basics to make sure you car is at it’s best:

  1. An oil change should happen every 3 months or 3,000 miles and there is nothing wrong with scheduling an appointment. Consider high mileage oil changes when you have reached 75k.
  2. Tire alignments/rotations are not necessary after every oil change. However you should consider getting them rotated every 6-8 months or 6,000-8,000 miles.
  3. Your tire pressure will fluctuate with the changing weather so always know the proper number you need to set them to. You can find this info in your manual or open the drivers door and look at that sticker.
  4. Scheduling appointments is fine but ALWAYS check your car after the process. I didn’t pay attention once and I am missing 3 bolt covers on my tires.
  5. Leaving bird poop and other crap on your car is bad for the paint job. Take pride in the clean look after the car wash.
  6. Keep all of your important car information (registration and insurance) in your glove compartment or center console. I have all of my info in a plastic document holder. You can also put emergency “products” for the unexpected visits.
  7. It is amazing what a little TLC can do for your car so keep it clean. You can buy trunk organizers and stuff from places like bed bath and beyond and you can have section for your car essentials.
  8. Currently in my trunk right now I have a travel air pressure machine for my tires (tired of quarters), microfiber clothes (to dry my car after the car wash), car wipes and cloth stain remover.
  9. Windshield wipers should be changed twice a year. You can find them at any car place or Walmart type store. All you have to do is follow the info given based on your car and viola. Some auto parts places will even install them for you. (Even though it’s a good idea to know how to do it oneself.)
  10. If you keep a plastic shopping bag in your car you can always collect the trash and throw it away rather than letting it collect on the floor.

Toolbox:

  • Tire Pressure Stick
  • Portable Air Tire Machine
  • Car Wipes
  • Plastic Pouch
  • Emergency Car Kit (Can find one at Walmart or any auto store)
  • Microfiber Cloths

I hope these tips are helpful to all of you. They have definitely helped me in the past and present.

Leave a Reply

