Fit Check |Week 8- Brand New Plan

Today I have no measurements for you and I have no weight checks for you. That is because last week I spent a lot of time just down and unmotivated. I went to the gym still but as far as me pushing myself as hard as I normally do it was not there. I took this as a sign that I needed to make some immediate changes.

First I decided to look at my eating. Could I be intaking to many calories? So I went online and looked for a “Caloric Intake Calculator” and sadly I got conflicting answers from multiple sites:

Bodybuilding.com: 1607.2 Calories (Seems really high)

Livestrong.com: 1230

Massyarias.com: 2000 (This can’t be right!)

Active.com: 1200

— These were based on the goal weight of 165lbs and 2 lbs./week—

SO WHICH DO I PICK!!

Why is every calculator giving me different answers? In order for me to really understand this I tried to base it off my BMR (Basal Metabolic Rate) but that number also varied with each calculator (2100-2400). So I decided to do some math.

The formula to calculate your BMR (as a woman) is:

(4.35 x body weight in pounds) + (4.7 x height in inches) – (4.68 x age) + 655 = 1849.61

Now I used the Harris – Benedict Equation, which takes the activity level into account. Though I work out regularly I consider my activity level sedentary because of my job so it’s:

BMR * 1.2 = 2219.532

I also know that in order to lose weight you have to burn more calories that you consume. One pound of weight is lost for every 3000 calories reduced or burned. Working out 5 days a week means I need have a deficit of 600 calories a day to lose 1 lb. a week. If my goal is about 2 lbs. a week I need to make a deficit of 1200 calories a day. Whew that seems like a lot.

2219.532 – 1200 = 1019 calories/ day

I know for a fact that is entirely too low for a safe and healthy journey that won’t leave me carb loading in massive proportions HOWEVER is it close to the Livestrong and active calculators. I trust Livestrong more so I decided to go with 1230 calories a day, which also means my food had to be readjusted dramatically. I went back to the meal plan I was using when I did the 24 day AdvoCare Challenge and according to MyFitnessPal my daily caloric intake is actually 1332. I am not stressing 100 calories especially considering my average calorie burn is 700.

For Example:  (Monday’s Results)

1230 (Goal) – 1332 (Food) + 719 (Exercise) = 617 Calories Remaining

Since I am already at a caloric deficit this should help me achieve my goal. Yesterday I tried it and I was not hungry I was just craving sweets on a massive level.

Sorry this is so long but here’s my new plan:

|||Goals|||

  • 500-800 calories burned a day
  • CONSISTENCY
  • 5-6 workouts a week
  • incorporate yoga 3 days/ week
  • rest days: Friday and Sunday
  • 1330 Calorie Intake Maximum

|||Concerns|||

Sugar Cravings

|||Exercise Schedule|||

  • Monday:  Body Combat
  • Tuesday: Plyo Legs + 20 mins cardio
  • Wednesday: Chest, Biceps and Body Combat
  • Thursday: Abs & Power Yoga
  • Friday: Rest Day
  • Saturday: Zumba and Yoga
  • Sunday: Rest Day; Meal Prep Day; Yoga

|||Meal Plan|||

  • Breakfast: Protein Shake, 1 Tbsp. Fiber, 16 oz. Crystal Light, Vitamins
  • Mid-Morning Snack: Small Fuji Apple, ¼ cup of unsalted cashews
  • Lunch: 3 oz. baked Chicken, ½ cup Jasmine Rice, 1 cup spinach
  • Pre Workout Snack: Pre-workout Drink, Banana, ¼ cup unsalted cashews
  • Dinner: Chicken Salad or 3 oz. chicken and spinach

What are you doing for the week?

 

Leave a Reply

